The Darling Dahlias
the Naked Ladies

In the Dahlias' second adventure, the hometown ladies (Liz, Verna, Bessie, and Myra Mae) meet Miss Lorelei LaMotte, the famous Ziegfeld Frolics dancer, and a mysterious man from Cicero, Illinois. It looks like big-city crime has invaded dear little Darling—and that even the indomitable Dahlias can't stop it!


"The author of the popular China Bayles mysteries brings a small Southern town to life and vividly captures an era and culture—the Depression, segregation, class differences, the role of women in the South—with authentic period details. Her book fairly sizzles with the strength of the women of Darling." —Library Journal Starred Review

"Cozy fans will be delighted to learn that the prolific Albert—known for her clever puzzles, engaging characters, love of nature, and outstanding historic research—is debuting yet another exceptional series." —Booklist Starred Review

"A nostalgic first in a new Depression-era mystery series...Albert combines great period detail with surefooted sleuthing that should satisfy fans and attract new ones." —Publishers Weekly

"This sweet book captures the true tone of a small town." —Times-Picayune, New Orleans

"Albert...hits all the right notes in this series debut. The plot's believable, the Southern color brims with authenticity, and the characters are charmingly and realistically drawn... The Darling Dahlias and the Cucumber Tree blooms with success, and here's hoping the ladies have many more opportunities to dig into crime." —Richmond Times-Dispatch

"Excellent timely regional Depression Era amateur sleuth that brings to life the atmosphere of a period in which people are concerned over the economy that has left no chicken in almost any pot." —Follow The Clue

Read the first chapter of Naked Ladies

Discussion questions for Naked Ladies: coming soon...

The Map: Cucumber Tree
click thumbnail for larger map
or click here for pdf version

Visit the Darling Dahlias Facebook page

Order your autographed/
personalized copy now.

Order from

Order from Barnes & Noble

Buy local
Order from your
local independent bookseller

Third book in the series: The Darling Dahlias and the Confederate Rose